The Shadowy Horses

I love Susanna Kearsley!!

Reading her (for me at least) is the literary equivalent of a favorite old sweater–comforting and warm. Almost as soon as I start I can feel it gathering around me like a safe little bubble. They are not for everyone–the romances in them always seem to end a little too perfectly with the future all mapped out but never ever discussed and you must be able to suspend disbelief at least somewhat.

This particular story doesn’t have a dual time line/time travel story like many of her others but instead has a ghost story. We have archeologists looking for the famous missing Roman Ninth Legion in Scotland and a ghostly Sentinel watching over what may or may not be a Roman marching camp.

I loved the setting-the small Scottish town of Eyemouth (which from the outside seems quaint but would probably drive me nuts if I lived there) and most of the characters (Adrian & Fabia I’m looking at you!)  Things ended a little too tidily and of course left other things just hanging in the breeze but that’s just how it goes.

If you decide to check out Susanna Kearsley and I highly suggest you do, start with ‘Mariana’ or ‘The Winter Sea’ which are my two favorites! This is a great addition for the person who loves to read an author’s complete collection but don’t make this your first.

Leave a Reply

